Painted Without Makeup

Home » Uncategorized » These last few hours

These last few hours

 

a lovely poem in my OB’s office

 
I’m not a very patient person by nature. That’s why being fewer than 24 hours from delivering this baby is a big deal. It’s finally here…and it’s wonderful and weird and strange and delightful all at the same time. 

Being able to schedule a delivery is a relatively new phenomenon for the human species, and I don’t take that for granted. In my mind, there is something risky and magical and greatly rewarding about waiting to go into labor, but in my three pregnancies, I have not had that privilege. (For the story of our journey to Caesarian, check out the post I wrote shortly after our second child was born, Diary of a Wimpy Mom.) 

I don’t know if I will be able to sleep tonight. I can’t wait to meet our daughter. The thoughts of anesthesia are fear-inducing, so I will probably be praying a lot trough that tonight. Life is such a risky thing, but as the adage says, “El que no arriesga no cruce la mar.” That means, “She who never takes a risk never crosses the sea.” 

That’s kind of our philosophy with having kids…it’s a risk to have kids. It’s a risk to be in any kind of relationship. But it is so very rewarding. 

As you go into your day tomorrow, will you pray for me and for baby Lucy’s entrance into the world outside? And while you’re at it, know that I am praying for you to take that next big risk. 

~Amanda


2 Comments

  1. The counted cross stitch of “These Last Few Hours” is beautiful. I thought you might like to see a copy of the original publication. This was published in 1977 after the birth of my first son. I am now an author of children’s books. You may find the original post by using the url http://www.deesbooks.com or google my name, Dee Livers, and chose ‘about the author’ or google ‘Tate Publishing’ and search with my name.

    • AmandaBeck says:

      I love this poem! Thank you for sharing the original publication with me. I will link it to the picture caption when I am back at my regular computer.

Leave a Reply

Follow Painted Without Makeup on WordPress.com
